top of page
Search
  • calvinsbaer

Let's go Shopping!

Something super cool about Mexico is the possibility to buy so many things for such a low price. I did not come to Merida thinking that I was going to buy anything, but after figuring out the conversion rate I was shocked to see the things you can buy for very little money. I ended up buying multiple pieces of jewelery for my mom and sister, clothes, a new watch, and even a cool hat! And I didn't mention all the food consumed either!



Here is a picture of many hats. I was able to buy one for just 4 american dollars!

Becuase the price of many materials is very low, the quality is also. I bought a shirt for about 7$ only to have it be ripped when I took it out from my luggage! But, there are still many other stores of better quality with very low prices as well. There was one clothing store called "cuidado con el perro", or "careful with the dog". From this store, I ended up getting about 5 shirts, 2 pairs of pants, and some socks for only 30$! And the quality was very good! I'm excited to wear the clothes when fall semester starts up at BYU!



This last week, Cody, Jake, and I went to this store! We were happy with what we found!

Something that Lily told me this last week was that silver here is very cheap! She says that in the United States it can be 3 times more expensive! Apparently, silver it is not rare in Mexico and is very accessible. For this reason, they are able to sell it at such a low price! After hearing this I decided to buy my sister and mom some silver bracelets! I think that they are going to love them.

While buying these, I really bargained with the people selling them in order to get a good price! I think it's so cool how basically everywhere but in the U.S. you can bargain... Especially in Mexico!

The peole in South America aslo really love watches. While on my mission I would always see people selling and buying watches. They are also sold for very cheap in South America. However, the after buying my watch it was broken! The man who sold it to me told me that it was water proof and told me that I could definately go swimming with it! That same night I wore it into the pool and water instantly got inside of the screen and destroyed it. I took it back and the guy was nice enough to change the battery so that it worked, but seemed to be irritated by the fact that I was bringing it back! This was so funny to me how he could flat out lie to me and then get angry at me for believing what he said.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page